Notes and Links for “I am Not Your Negro” discussion March 27 at Boone Home

Notes and Links:” I am not Your Negro”

                Additional information for the Community Discussion of “I am not Your Negro” on Monday, March 27 7:00 at the Boone Home (next to Second Baptist Church) Columbia Missouri

1.       New York TIMES review

https://www.nytimes.com/2017/02/02/movies/review-i-am-not-your-negro-review-james-baldwin.html?_r=0

2. New York Review of Books

http://www.nybooks.com/articles/2017/03/23/under-spell-james-baldwin/

3.       NPR Director Raoul Peck: James Baldwin was speaking directly to me

http://www.npr.org/2017/02/14/515196224/director-raoul-peck-james-baldwin-was-speaking-directly-to-me

4.       Travis Smiley interview with Raoul Peck February 3, 2017

http://www.npr.org/2017/02/14/515196224/director-raoul-peck-james-baldwin-was-speaking-directly-to-me

This Travis Smiley interview contains (at 0:40-1:15) a memorable and powerful part of the film. It is James Baldwin responding to a Yale philosophy professor on “Dick Cavett” in 1968:

                “I don’t know what most white people in this country feel. But I can only conclude what they feel from the state of their institutions. I don’t know if white Christians hate Negroes or not, but I know we have a Christian Church which is white and a Christian Church which is black. I know, as Malcom X once put it, the most segregated hour in American life is high noon on Sunday. That says a great deal for me about a Christian nation. It means I can’t afford to trust most white Christians, and I certainly can’t trust the Christian church. I don’t know whether the labor unions and their boss really hate me—that doesn’t matter—but I know I am not in their union. I don’t know whether the real estate lobby has anything against black people, but I know the real estate lobby is keeping me in the ghetto. I don’t know if the board of education hates black people, but I know the textbooks they give my children and the schools we have to go to. Now, this is evidence. You want me to make an act of faith, risking myself, my wife, my woman, my sister, my children on some idealism which you assure me exists in America, which I have never seen.”

5.        ‘I Am Not Your Negro’ brings James Baldwin’s words to life” CNN February 17, 2017

http://www.cnn.com/2017/02/03/entertainment/i-am-not-your-negro-review/index.html

6.       Official trailer https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=rNUYdgIyaPM  At 1:25 another memorable quote:

“The future of the Negro in this country is precisely as bright or as dark as the future of the country. It is entirely up to the American people and our representatives—it is entirely up to the American people whether or not they are going to face and deal with embrace the stranger who they have maligned so long. What white people have to do is try and find out in their own hearts why it was necessary to have a “nigger” in the first place, because I am  not a nigger, I’m a man. But if you think I am a nigger, you need him.  . . . If I’m not the nigger here and you invented  him, you the white people invented him, then you got to find out why. And the future of the country depends on that, whether or not it is able to ask that question.”

Leave a Reply

